Top white facebook2x Top white webcam2x Webcam Login Join
Home / News / South Windermere Sailing Club celebrates successful season with awards
Home / News / South Windermere Sailing Club celebrates successful season with awards

South Windermere Sailing Club celebrates successful season with awards

Published 10:25 on 3 Nov 2018

South Windermere Sailing Club awarded 48 trophies to adult and junior members of the club at its annual dinner and prize giving, 27 October at the Newby Bridge Hotel.

Mark Fernley scooped 11 trophies to lead the tally, while Past Commodore James Downes and Jack Thompson both collected 6.

Click the link for the rest of the article

For the juniors, David Woolgrove and Owen O'Donnell both won three.

Special achievements were highlighted with the "Commodore's Choice" awards:

Jane Telford was awarded the Haig Trophy for her long-standing commitment as SWSC Secretary.

Alice Brasher won Junior Navigator.

Sarah Watton won the "Helm Slayer Bat" awarded to "battered crew".

And junior Joel Oreton won the "Unstoppable" award for greatest perseverance.

James Woolgrove, the new SWSC Commodore, was awarded "the Golden Boot" – for "biggest screw up" in almost turning a Topaz Argo into a submarine.

The South Windermere Sailing Club is a family-friendly club based at the National Trust's Fell Foot Park. The club has operated for over 50 years, and is now enjoying new facilities with the National Trust's Active Base. For more information, see

The full award list:

Steve Backhouse (Flying Fifteen): Classic Flying Fifteen Trophy

Alice Brasher (Tera Sport): Junior Navigator

James Downes (Flying Fifteen): Claife Cup, Enterprise Cup, Flying Fifteen points trophy, Lion Trophy / Peugeot, Newton Plate, RNLI Trophy

Bob Eastwood (Vareo): Waterhead Cup, Eiger Trophy

Mark Fernley (Blaze): Anniversary Regatta Cup, Barometer Trophy, Belle Isle Cup, Butler Tray, Cumbria Crystal, Dinghy Fleet Points Trophy, Grass Holme Trophy, OK Trophy, Ramp Holme Plate. Sphinx Trophy / Armstrong Siddeley, Trafalgar Day Trophy

Alison Graham (Flying Fifteen): Ladies' Trophy

Joe Marsland (Flying Fifteen): Lady Commodore Trophy

Owen O'Donnell (National 12, Laser): Junior Pursuit Race Trophy, Junior Anniversary Cup, Laser Trophy

Joel Oreton (Tera Sport): Unstoppable Trophy

Ed Pilling (Kestral): Peter Shaw Trophy and Shipside Shield

Barney Proud (Streaker): Daniels Trophy, Dyer Trophy, Fell Foot Plate, Gummers How Cup

Wyn Roberts (Flying Fifteen): Eunice Vase

Andy Snell (K1): K1 Windermere Open

Jane Telford: Haig Trophy (Commitment Award)

Jack Thompson (Flying Fifteen, Kestral): Blake Holme Bowl, Bosun's Cup, Flying Fifteen Trophy, Lady Windermere Trophy, Newby Bridge Plate, Storrs Park Trophy

Sarah Watton: Helm Slayer Bat

Guy Wheeler (Streaker): Skirtful Cup

David Woolgrove (Tera Sport): Junior September Series Trophy, RS Tera Trophy, Junior Plate 2

James Woolgrove (Argo): Golden Boot

Last updated 14:42 on 30 March 2021

© 2021 South Windermere Sailing Club powered by Sailing Club Manager